Maybe we should take up a collection.

In case you haven’t seen or heard about this, please sit down. Now take a few deep breaths. Good. . .good. Relaxed? Ok, now try to stay in your happy place as long as you can. Ok, here goes:

The President of the United States wants private insurance companies to cover the medical expenses of injured soldiers!

I know, I know. . .this flies in the face of every moral obligation we have to these brave souls, but remember your happy place. Remember we all voted for change and this is definitely change. This is a break with more than 200 years of American history. In fact, I don’t know of another nation that has ever asked private institutions to cover the medical expenses of soldiers wounded in action. First of all, moral obligations aside, it could easily bankrupt the private insurance industry. This seems like a bad idea. You know, to me.

But maybe I’m not the best judge. After all, I’ve never served in the military. My dad was a distinguished member of the Navy and Naval Reserves for almost thirty years, but I never felt the call to military service. Perhaps we could get some perspective from someone more familiar with veterans affairs. In this article, the head of the American Legion, the nation’s largest veterans organization, says he’s, “deeply disappointed and concerned.” According to the article, Commander David K. Rehbein was “clearly angered” after emerging from a meeting with President Obama. I think this comment sums up his feelings best, “This reimbursement plan would be inconsistent with the mandate ‘ to care for him who shall have borne the battle’ given that the United States government sent members of the armed forces into harm’s way, and not private insurance companies. I say again that The American Legion does not and will not support any plan that seeks to bill a veteran for treatment of a service connected disability at the very agency that was created to treat the unique need of America’s veterans!”

I don’t believe there’s anything I can add to that.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Maybe we should take up a collection.

  1. When I saw this story on Fox News I was stunned. I began gathering my reactions for my own take on it but when you beat me to the punch I decided to broaden my perspective and give this story time to play out some more.

    Your reaction is dead on. This is just wrong, but more than that it provides a glimpse inside the Big O’s mind. During the meeting the moral obligation wass repeatedly raised and repeatedly Big O refused to address it and returned to the savings amount. A number unverified, unsubstantiated, and meaninglessly small in budgetary terms as defined by both Big O and Congress. The amount is barely one earmark. But I’m keeping this one in the crockpot a few more days. I am expecting more will come.

  2. reedkeys

    UPDATE: Apparently, this horrible idea has been shelved. Expect it to be tacked on innocuously to a school lunch program for underprivileged kids. As we often say about our military and their sacrifices – we will never forget!

Leave a Reply

