Blast from the past

I’m not sure this is relevant but it is something I was thinking about today and I wanted to make a record of it so here goes. For years, I have been telling this joke in certain situations about how much smarter kids form foreign countries are because they speak all these foreign languages. For example, French kids speak French fluently, Mexican kids speak Spanish fluently, and they’re not even from Spain! Ok, it’s not a very funny joke, but as far as I’m concerned, it’s mine.

Well, last year, during the campaign, President Obama said this, “You know, it’s embarrassing when Europeans come over here, they all speak English, they speak French, they speak German. And then we go over to Europe and all we can say is ‘merci beaucoup!” Is it my imagination, or is he stealing my material?!? Did he just sound impressed that kids from Europe speak French and German? Is he talking about French and German kids? I think so!

I’m adding this one to the Obama gaffe file. BTW, if you haven’t read it, I have a blog on some other gaffes he made during the election. Check it out here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

